First thing’s first, a special PSA from Weriik who is semi-featured in this video.

OH HAI TEAMMATE – Welcome To Middle Lane

And now the video. Enjoy my failure.

Analysis after the jump

  • 0:00 – I need to get an intro. I’ll figure out something. Also I have no idea why the Youtube’s re-encoding process decided to recolor my video but it did. I’ll be playing around with some settings to find something that works.
  • 1:40 – I should have taken Clairvoyance instead of Teleport instead. Clairvoyance allows you to see any location on the map for 6 seconds and generally every team should have at least one. I’ll be talking about team compositions for the next few weeks, about how to choose a champions (that you can play) that fits the rest of your team.
  • 4:52 – Shift+F4 also makes you laugh
  • 5:03 -So begins me saying “zoning” like a million times. It’s an important concept to learn because it helps you gain an advantage over the enemy champion. What I am doing is the most “basic” of zoning: getting into melee range of the enemy champion and scaring him off. In a 2v1 lane like this (they only have 1 champion top because Shaco is jungling) I can get away with this because I know what Pantheon can do at level 1 and any of his pokes I can easily stun him and back away to regain health. Other champions aren’t as easy to zone (such as other tanks) and others are almost impossible if you don’t have the right champion (Garen trying to zone Teemo after level 3.)
  • 5:44 – “Feeding” is a term that comes up a lot but it’s often applied wrong, like what I did here. Shaco picking up two kills is hardly feeding. A better way to tell when a champion is fed is to compare how much gold they have to how much your carry (the champions on your team that put out the damage) has. If the champion in question has over 2000 more gold than your carry (~6 more kills), they are fed.
  • 6:01 – Pantheon made an incredibly dumb move there. Both Leona and Swain were level 2 and the power difference between level 2 champions and level 1 is steep. Not only that but he should have known Leona and Swain could slow and stun him into the ground.
  • 6:16 – Maokai has incredibly zoning potential. I’ve heard Maokai’s “Sapling Toss” compared to Lux’s “Lucent Singularity” since they are similar, but really Maokai “Sapling Toss” is more effective because it makes people scatter. If the sapling targets them, they are forced to run for 2.5 seconds which is way more effective than Lux’s “Lucent Singularity” which just allows her to deny area for a maximum of 5 seconds.
  • 6:55 – This was a dumb move and I’m surprised I didn’t get punished for it. I knew where Maokai was but I did not know where Shaco was. Now, it’s only been 4 minutes so I expect he’d still be jungling but there is always the chance he was actually hiding in the bushes nearby. I’d either die or have to use Flash to escape, meaning I wouldn’t have Flash for 4 minutes, making me even more susceptible to getting ganked.
  • 7:28 – Should have said Maokai was missing sooner.
  • 8:12 – It’s a tossup here. Shaco is still missing, but by burning Pantheon’s mana now it means he can’t use it later and with my Regrowth Pendant I will restore my health faster than Pantheon can restore his mana.
  • 8:28 – You don’t need to worry about Shaco when the tower is gunning for you.
  • 8:50 – I made the choice to go to the bottom lane temporarily because everyone was low and I could get there quickly. If I had went to the top lane instead, we’d be stuck trying to push minions against a tower. By going bottom lane, I helped secure a kill and allowed Swain to solo for a bit, giving him more gold and XP that he needs to be effective.
  • 9:58 – Kind of a dick move to steal a minion kill from Veigar, since he gains AP based on how many minions he kills. So in return, I donate a ward to him.
  • 10:15 – Wasn’t very smart of me, running through the middle like that. I should have taken the longer safer way.
  • 10:54 – I should have pinged first to let Weriik know my intentions that I was going to stun Shaco.
  • 11:34 – Health potions heal 200 health over 20 seconds and cost only 35 gold, which is two minion kills. If you can stay in lane long enough thanks to a health potion to kill two more minions, you’ve paid for that health potion.
  • 12:35 –  Using skills to get last hits is nice but only if there are no other enemy champions near. In this situation, if I had my Zenith Blade and Shield of Daybreak,we would have been able to harass Pantheon more.
  • 14:00 – They changed this in the most recent patch. You can’t tell who is the real Shaco by who has the buff anymore.
  • 14:34 – The better thing to do would have been to stay close to Swain. The smarter thing to do was to get outside of Pantheon’s ultimate and stun Shaco when he targets us letting Swain secure the kill.
  • 15:05 – I knew this because after playing against so many stealth character, I know they’re greedy and will try to dive you from behind like that.
  • 15:14 – Boom :33
  • 16:54 – I use Leona’s ultimate too often as a gap closer instead of as a finisher.
  • 17:55 – “You only need to click once, fool.” – Mordekaiser
  • 18:40 – Poor Cass. Stun is a wonder tool and I have no idea why people don’t realize keeping someone stunned for 5 seconds or more means they don’t deal any damage and can’t defend against anything either.
  • 19:05 – Wards are 75 gold meaning they cost roughly 3-4 minions. If you have an empty slot and 75 gold lying around, buy a ward. Even carries, who are known for needing ridiculous amount of gold in order to pump out their damage should buy a ward when they can. Typically supports are expected to buy wards but there in lies the problem: a support champion can’t ward the whole map by themselves because they are squishy by design. Instead if everyone were to spare 75 gold to buy a ward, all the critical points on the map can be covered meaning ganks can be easily prevented and counter-ganks can be performed.
  • 19:42 – I should have been more patient but I was in a “fuck it” mood and decided I didn’t want to deal with fighting people so I walked out to just scare them off.
  • 20:12 – All of that was bad. I should have saved my ult for when they were at the tower and more of my team members were around so we could have picked up some kills instead of being forced to protect the tower.
  • 20:55 – I was hoping to secure dragon but seeing the ward tipped me off that it might a trap since the rest of their team was missing. I should have been more explicit when explaining this to my team…
  • 21:07 – Like when Lee Sin and Renekton get stuck in a 2v5 battle because they didn’t understand what I meant by “tarp.”
  • 21:20 – Going down there to try and “save them” is not what I should be doing. I should be helping Veigar secure the middle turret.
  • 22:05 – Should have told Veigar I was going in. Should have used my gap closer instead of my ult to lock down Corki. I keep making the same mistakes over and over.
  • 23:35 – Priorities in a game are: Kill towers. Kill minions. Kill dragon. Kill golems. Kill Baron. Ward. And finally kill champions. Sometimes you have to kill champions in order to do get the other priorities done, but if you are going out of your way to simply kill champions when any other objective is available, then you have gank vision. Don’t worry though, they have eye drops for that. (And for the record I don’t keep my priorities in check all the time; in fact I often forget them. If I did, I wouldn’t be as terrible.)
  • 26:00 – Building items on a tank is extremely reactionary. You have to understand what types of damage the other team can deal (whether it’s magic, physical, or true damage) and build in response. General rules of thumb are:
  1. Build a Thornmail if the other team has mostly auto-attackers.
  2. Build a Randuin’s Omen if the other team has mostly auto-attacks with high attack speeds.
  3. Build a Force of Nature against magic damage harrassment.
  4. Build a Quicksilver Sash against teams with lots of Crowd Control spells or debuffs.
  5. Build a Aegis of Legion against balanced teams.
  • 31:05 – I need to space out my skills more to let my teammates do more damage.
  • 31:42 – Redundant ward is redundant.
  • 33:34 – In these situations, one of us should go and try to take out towers while the enemy team is stuck guarding this tower. This will force the enemy team to split up to defend, meaning we’ll have a better chance at tower diving.
  • 34:20 – Cass already used her ult. I was freaking out too much to notice. Sometimes details just slip by…After this point nothing really to note. See you all next week.