So, today is a special day. Not because of any holiday (although Riot did release 4 amazing skins for the New Year), but because of an influx of information about a game I absolutely loved. So today, you’re going to be getting a story. But first, a little set up. As you can probably guess, the game I’m referring to is PlanetSide, the old MMOFPS of yesteryear. I can’t tell you when, exactly, I picked the game up, but it was early in the MMO journey. It was a little bit after I stopped playing EverQuest, but couldn’t sate the desire of a game… bigger, than what other games were offering. I wanted something massive. Something to scratch that budding shooter itch I was developing. And then I saw it in my local E.B. Games, PlanetSide. A PC game that captivated me just from the box art. I took my money and bought the game, and got a family member to buy me a month-long time card. And thus my adventures on Auraxis began.

There is plenty of story to the game, but to keep things brief, there was a mineral rich planet found on the other side of a wormhole, that people flocked to for riches and wealth. Sadly, the wormhole began to destabilize, isolating the world of Auraxis. To complicate matters, alien artifacts belonging to a race known as the Vanu, and some of the technology that was recovered preformed miracles. Death became nothing, as Vanu technology gave people the ability to be reborn instantly, and the world quickly shattered. The Terran Republic remained loyal to the Earth government that it had been separated from, and formed the first of the three empires. The Second was a miss-match New Conglomerate, a democratic empire founded by everything from industrial giants to lowly terrorists and mercenaries. And then, the Third empire, the Vanu Sovereignty, who believed human evolution would only come through the Vanu technology. Transcendence through Alien tech, oh gee, I wonder what faction I was playing as?

I stuck myself in the lightest armor I could, grabbed a sniper rifle and a hack tool, and set off to find a battle. As luck would have it, my brothers- and sisters-in-arms were assaulting a New Conglomerate base on the continent I happened to be on. So I packed up and set out, pushing forward until I saw the swarming mass of the Vanu Sovereignty colors, a base  a little further off. Anxious to help my empire (and because I was still unfamiliar with the concept of these strange and archaic “guild” things), I set off to find a good position to snipe from, foolishly separating myself from the main attack. Suddenly the NC pushed out, punching into the Vanu main lines, pushing our troops back. In the middle of the chaos, one massive form lumbered out, laying down suppressing fire and striding unshakably to our front lines. Knowing the time was at hand, I leveled my sniper and sighted my target down the scopes, firing off a shell right into the bulky fool’s armor.

He turned around and found me. And he was ticked off.

I learned a valuable lesson that day. Don’t use Anti-Infantry weapons on a walking mass of armor. It makes them upset. Like, really upset. That dude bolted towards me and never stopped, and managed to catch me when I made the mistake of slowing down and circling around, assuming I’d given him the slip. Last thing I knew were dozens of shells shredding my armor and body. And that was the first time I died that day.

A few minutes later, my fresh body popped out of the respawn tanks of a nearby friendly vehicle. Fine, lesson learned. Shoot the little guys first, let our tanks and rockets shoot the big guys. Instead of heading back to the front lines, I decided to go around, to assault an un-gaurded tower that was nearby. So I slink on over, search the tower, and find to my profound amusement the entire thing is empty. What luck! With no one around, I toss down the one mine I was able to squeeze into my inventory and set to work at hacking the tower. Soon, the thing would switch to our side, and all glory would be for the Vanu Sovereignty! At least, it would be. But I was caught. Again. NC really hate you taking their stuff, you know?

And to make matters worse, there were quite a few people storming up, and the one mine I brought wasn’t going to stop them. One guy with heavy armor and an assault rifle catch me and my piddly sniper, and that was curtains. Wake up, pop out of spawn tube, sigh at how close I was. Make my way back to the tower… to see it swarming with New Conglomerate troops. Wait… what? Why were there so many? I was the only one there! Only, now that they’ve committed so much to a lone wolf who’s out causing problems, the main building began to fall. I was around after that, mostly getting lost inside the base looking for doods to shoot or machines to hack, but all in all that was my first (and sadly, last) major battle in PlanetSide. Nothing large in the grand scale, and a relatively small battle in the usual scale.

And, as I said, that was sadly the only major fight I was in. Beyond that, it was 3 months of my just goofing off and messing around. A few isolated incidents, but that one day of fighting is the one that I’ll always remember.  The tension, the thrill, the utter pants-wetting fear as one guy runs me half-way across a continent.  So, what was the point of the story? Well, besides reminiscing about the good old days, there is something around the corner. Something amazing. Something massive. And it will be glorious. Because, next time, I’m going to use the lessons I’ve learned over the years from other MMOs. Everything I learned from PlanetSide, going into this new, yet familiar world.

This time, it’s going to be me pummeling people to death in power armor.

WE ARE TOMORROW