Edit: For anyone else who may have had the same fears as me (either not having played the original, or not remembering it very well like me), I’m happy to point out the Developers were already on this. The original Planetside did a fantastic job of creating female player models, and I’m very eagerly awaiting on how we’ll get to look in Planetside 2. A massive thank you to Tramell, Higby, and everyone here and over on Reddit that confirmed what I dared to dream. Can’t to get my boots (never going to forget about that) dirty on the fields of Auraxis with you all!

Dear Planetside 2 Devs,

Do you mind if I call you devy? Too informal? Okay, I’ll keep that in mind. I don’t want to be too formal, because we’re all good friends around here, right? You guys work on the bestest game ever, and we salivate and jump around at all the tasty morsels you throw at us. Like sweet air vehicles or concept art of a human/transformer hybrid. And we absolutely love it. I love it. PlanetSide 2 is setting itself up to be one of the greatest games I could imagine playing, and I’m happily sitting here, PC Gamer beta key in hand, waiting to lovingly get into your game and tear it apart from the inside out. What, you called it a beta test. I’ll test it, even if it means jumping up and down for an hour to break the world geometry. And shooting. There will be shooting.

However… I’m now generating some doubts about a single aspect of the game. See, I was perfectly fine with PlanetSide 2 as a whole when I assumed that everyone would be a similar-ish Male type character, which is standard fare. You don’t see a female option in, say, Call of Duty. Or Tribes. Battlefield 3. I could go on, but the point is most of the time we’re given a homogenized ‘Man’ character, and that’s that. It’s not like we’re playing Dark Souls and spending an hour and a half crafting a face, it’s about the game play and guns, right? And since all of the war shooters are first person anyways, it’s simple enough to ignore the occasional grunt and pretend that I’m playing the game. But you see, I wasn’t born a guy. No, I was born as a space butterfly girl. A girl who likes war games, and likes to kick a little ass.

So, it seems perfect that PlanetSide 2 would offer a female model, right? I mean, that’s like a dream come true for me. You mean, I get to be in on the action this time? Not just as some faceless guy, but as a faceless girl? I love the choice, it brings a smile to my face. And having it would really cement PS2 in the top 5 ranking games ever in my heart (assuming game play is what I’m expecting roughly), but I am worried now. See, my half of the population has a pretty abysmal representation in gaming. Let’s look for a sec at another FPS coming into beta real quick, alright?

Ugh...

Please, I’m begging you Devys, Please don’t be this. I want to feel like I’m part of an army. I want to feel like I am part of something bigger, a piece of a cohesive and noticeable whole, moving towards victory. I do not want to feel like the artist forgot to finish my outfit like the redhead up there. Did someone forget to draw her pants? The rest of the armor looks sick, but I mean really. Even worse if the lady obviously supposed to be in-charge or whatever here. I’m sitting here in complete disbelief that she’s supposed to be a soldier in an army. Really? Your not even wearing pants, there is no stomach covering, and WTF is with a random under-boob window? Do the people who drew this even know how a bullet-fight goes down? Because you don’t shoot for the head. That’s stupid, it’s small and quick to move, and there are no bonus points in real life for it. You shoot for center-of-mass. That part of her body that is almost completely uncovered.

See, something like that just throws me completely from the experience. I can’t even begin to think about how I would even play such a game, which is a shame, because I was really interested in Firefall until I saw things like this cropping up everywhere. Now, I know things like ‘Sex Sells’ is ingrained into the public psyche, but that is just too far. I can’t get into that. I can’t feel like I’m part of an army. I can’t even assume she’d live more than twenty seconds once someone stops oogling her under-boob and just shoots her. Not like there is much armor to protect those vitals there.

You don't have to make us all look like armored cans, but I'd appreciate the option.

So my request is simple. Please, make something that looks like it fits for the female model. I’m not asking for a the default armor with curves (which would be awesome, but unlikely), just that you don’t go overboard. I want to feel like I’m part of an army, not part of some cheerleading squad that got tacked on. I want to look at my character and know I could kickass and chew bubblegum, not cringe at how exposed she is and then be expected to take that into a firefight. I want to be immersed, I want to be drawn into Auraxis, to enjoy every fight, to feel like I’m living the life of my character, a woman who happens to be trapped in a never-ending war. I want to be a soldier.  Because I’m not one in real life. I have family who joined up, but I never did. So please, allow me to have my fantasy, and not be forced into chainmail bikinis running around the battlefield.

Thank you for your time, and for reading this through. I hope I’ve at least given something to think on, and am eagerly awaiting the launch of PlanetSide 2. Despite my hesitance at this, the game truly is the one thing I’m looking forward to the most now. Before it was set to be a great game to me. Now it has the potential to be, literally, my dream game. The FPS that sets all others to shame. But only if my character can truly feel like my character, and not a Vanu Pin-up.

Lots of love and bullets;

Kana and Scarlet Gaming

ps- High heels are ludicrous to run around in. If you think it’s hard imagining walking in them, guys, then I dare you to try and run an obstacle course in them. Cupcakes for everyone if I get combat boots as an option!